Background

The increasing interest of the scientific community for multi-centre collaborations has brought about the need for tools and resources facilitating data harmonization and co-analysis across studies. In 2012, the Maelstrom Research project was created in order to meet this need. Maelstrom Research builds on the support of our five founding partner organizations: the Public Population Project in Genomics and Society (P3G), the Biobank Standardisation and Harmonisation for Research Excellence in the European Union (BioSHaRE), the Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging (CLSA), the Canadian Partnership for Tomorrow Project (CPTP), Integrative Analysis of Longitudinal Studies of Aging (IALSA) and Quebec’s Ministère de L’Économie, Innovation et Exportation (MEIE).

Maelstrom Research brings together an international team of epidemiologists, statisticians, and computer scientists to answer some of the challenges of cross-cohort research collaborations. Maelstrom Research activities are founded on to the data harmonization methodology developed under the DataSHaPER project , the OBiBa software application suite (www.obiba.org), and the federated data analysis methodology developed under the DataSHIELD project (www.datashield.org). The overall goal is to facilitate collaborative epidemiological research through rigorous data documentation, harmonization, integration and co-analysis. Since its inception, Maelstrom Research has worked with a number of study consortia to implement data harmonization and data sharing models geared towards collaborative epidemiological research. We encourage you to read through our site to learn more about our activities and our partnerships.

Funding

Maelstrom Research activities are supported by the following partners.

Maelstrom Research activities are supported by the following funding agencies:

                            

                       

 

Organization

The Maelstrom Research program brings together an international team of epidemiologists, statisticians, and computer scientists who develops methods and open-source software which facilitate data harmonization and co-analysis across collaborating epidemiological studies. Drs. Isabel Fortier and Vincent Ferretti lead Maelstrom Research’s head office located at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Center (RI-MUHC) in Montreal (Canada). Investigators from research institutions in North America and Europe are central to the achievement of Maelstrom Research’s activities. These activities are organized within three operational teams:

  • Software Development team Under the leadership of Drs. Vincent Ferretti and Paul Burton, the Software Development team ensures the development of software, websites and information technology tools and supervises the implementation of data infrastructures required by partner projects.
  • Methods Development team Under the leadership of Drs. Edwin R. van den Heuvel, Lauren Griffith, Paul Burton, Scott Hofer and Isabel Fortier, the Methods Development team ensures development of methods, statistical approaches and specialised tools required to support Maelstrom activities, and promote quality of the data harmonization process. 
  • Harmonization and Support team Under the leadership of Dr. Isabel Fortier, the Harmonization and Support team is responsible for creating and maintaining the Maelstrom repository. In addition, the team is supporting partners in the creation of study catalogues and achievement of data harmonization and integration processes.

 

Team & Contact

Principal Investigators

Isabel Fortier , Ph.D.
Research Institute of McGill University Health Centre, Canada
+1 (514) 934 1934 ext 44448
ifortier@maelstrom-research.org

Vincent Ferretti , Ph.D.
Ontario Institute for Cancer Research, Canada
+1 (416) 673 8509
vincent.ferretti@oicr.on.ca

Investigators

Benoît Mâsse , Ph.D.
Applied Clinical Research Unit (URCA), Research Center of the Sainte-Justine University Hospital, Canada
bmasse.urca@gmail.com

Edwin R. van den Heuvel , Ph.D.
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands
e.r.v.d.heuvel@tue.nl

Graciela Muniz-Terrera , Ph.D.
Centre for Dementia Prevention, University of Edinburgh, Scotland UK
g.muniz@ed.ac.uk

Lauren Griffith , Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics McMaster University, Canada
griffith@mcmaster.ca

Paul Burton , Ph.D.
Institute of Health and Society, University of Newcastle, United Kingdom
paul.burton@newcastle.ac.uk

Scott M. Hofer , Ph.D.
Department of Psychology and Centre on Aging at the University of Victoria, Canada
hofer@ohsu.edu

Research Team

Audrey Bégin , M.Sc.
Research Assistant

abegin@maelstrom-research.org

Camille Craig , M.Sc.
Project Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 44447
ccraig@maelstrom-research.org

Cindy Flick , M.Sc.
Research Assistant

cflick@maelstrom-research.org

Dany Doiron , MPP
Project Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71688
ddoiron@maelstrom-research.org

Ferima Sanogo , M.Sc.
Research Office Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71689
fsanogo@maelstrom-research.org

Fouzia Dekakra-Bellili , B.Sc.
Research Assistant

fdekakrab@maelstrom-research.org

Ghislain Rocheleau , Ph.D.
Project Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71873
grocheleau@maelstrom-research.org

Julie Bergeron , M.Sc.
Project Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71871
jbergeron@maelstrom-research.org

Karla Ordonez , B.Sc.
Research Assistant

kordonez@maelstrom-research.org

Nataliya Dragieva , M.Sc.
Biostatistician
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71874
ndragieva@maelstrom-research.org

Rachel Massicotte , Ph.D.
Project Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71464
rmassicotte@maelstrom-research.org

Rita Wissa , B.Sc.
Research Assistant

rwissa@maelstrom-research.org

Sarah Jemima Samoely Lala , M.Sc.
Research Assistant

sjsamoely@maelstrom-research.org

Youssef Amadou , M.Sc.
Research Assistant

yamadou@maelstrom-research.org

Software Development Team

Cédric Gael Fontin
Programmer
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71713
cfontin@maelstrom-research.org

Ramin Haeri Azad
Programmer Analyst
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71695
rhaeri@maelstrom-research.org

Rima Bouchakri
IT Project Manager
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71690
rbouchakri@maelstrom-research.org

Romain Roces
Programmer Analyst
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71696
rroces@maelstrom-research.org

Samir Ben Sghaier
Programmer Analyst
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71692
sbensghaier@maelstrom-research.org

Stéphane Mbatchou
Quantitative Research Analyst
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71687
smbatchou@maelstrom-research.org

Yannick Marcon
Senior Programmer Analyst
+1 (514) 934-1934 ext 71696
yannick.marcon@obiba.org